ELIGE MADERA

Books and Architecture: 5 Recommendations for Fans of Wooden Construction

There’s no doubt that reading is one of the most entertaining ways to learn new things, enter other worlds and get to know all kinds of people and their stories. So, those of you who like reading and are also interested in the world of wood and construction: this post is for you. 

There’s no doubt that reading is one of the most entertaining ways to learn new things, enter other worlds and get to know all kinds of people and their stories. So, those of you who like reading and are also interested in the world of wood and construction: this post is for you. 

1. Timber in the City 

There are two essays that make up this book, both written by iconic figures in wooden architecture: Andrew Waugh (who also edited the book,) designer of the first building made of CLT in the UK and Alan Organschi, an architect and professor at Yale. Here you’ll find all kinds of projects under construction as well as finished works that stand out for their design, structure and materiality. 

2. Fundamentals of Wood Design and Construction (Fundamentos del diseño y la construcción en madera)

This trilogy was written by Pablo Guindos, a Chilean specialist in the Design and Construction of Wood Structures, interim director of the UC Center for Innovation in Wood (CIM UC-CORMA) and director of the Latin American Network of Structural Wood (RELAMAD). It mainly addresses the qualities that this material has in relation to design and structure itself. It can also be very practical for those just starting to learn about wood construction, so it’s perfect for students as well as professionals.  

3. Wood

Phaidon Press’s "Wood," a striking and powerful call for timber construction, showcases the beauty of a material that can, by itself, enrich our daily life. The book features contributions from some of the most influential architects of the last century, revealing a constant fascination with a material that has a superb ability to create deeply innovative and experimental structures. 

4. Tall Wood Buildings: Design, Construction and Performance

Written by Michael Green, this book addresses the importance of building with wood for a sustainable future. It emphasizes that this scenario is not only possible, but actually the only viable solution in our current situation. As the book progresses, it becomes more and more inspiring, as plans and photographs showcase the use of wood in various construction projects around the world.  

5. A Process Revealed: Auf dem Holzweg 

Written by Henrietta Thompson, this book mainly focuses on the wood construction and structural development of the Murray Grove project in London, which is striking for its nine-story height - something unusual when talking about wood construction. If you’re inspired to read this book, you’ll be able to delve into the work that took place between client, architect, engineer and manufacturer to bring to fruition a project that revolutionized the limits of modern construction.

Timber in the City: Amazon.es: Bernheimer, Andrew: Libros en idiomas  extranjeros

PDF] Fundamentos del diseño y la construcción con madera by Pablo Guindos |  Perlego

Wood (Architecture in Detail): Amazon.es: William Hall, William Hall:  Libros en idiomas extranjeros

Tall Wood Buildings. Design, Construction and Performance. Second and  expanded edition by Birkhäuser - issuu

A Process Revealed / Auf dem Holzweg (Architecture): Amazon.es: Henrietta  Thompson, FUEL: Libros en idiomas extranjeros

Please login or register to post comments.

Theme picker

PROJECTS

Chile bets on wood in the construction of the future La Junta and Los Cisnes bus terminals

The use of wood in the new terminals will provide a unique space for the contemplation of Patagonia.

Leer artículo
CHOOSE WOOD

13/02/2021

Wood as a natural hero for the manufacture of environmentally friendly products.

Leer artículo
PROJECTS

13/02/2021

Plywood, the perfect bond of design and technology

Leer artículo
CHOOSE WOOD

13/02/2021

Wood and technology: a blend of another era

Leer artículo
PROYECTOS

The Forest Industry in Chile: The Key to Reactivating the Post-Pandemic Economy

A World Bank study considers the country a benchmark for sustainable forestry

Read article
PROJECTS

09/11/2020

Los Ángeles writes its name in wood to welcome visitors to the Biobío region

Read article
CHOOSE WOOD

09/11/2020

Active Classroom: wooden seats that encourage children to move

Read article
PROJECTS

09/11/2020

Wooden wind turbines? Sweden launched its first prototype made with this material

Read article
PROJECTS

21/10/2020

Children's restaurant made with wooden furniture encourages child development

Read article
CHOOSE WOOD

21/10/2020

Wood and Copper: A strategic alliance in the world of innovation and sustainability

Read article
CHOOSE WOOD

14/10/2020

Plywood: furniture made of this material is used to personalize homes in Japan

Nmstudio Architects, together with Nozoe Shimpei Architects, worked on 4 apartment prototypes for the Osaka community.

Read article
PROJECTS

24/08/2020

The Community Classroom: An Outdoor Wooden Classroom for After Coronavirus

Read article
PROJECTS

24/08/2020

Chile: The First National Building Built 100% with CLT Will Be 5 Stories High

Read article
PROJECTS

01/07/2020

Cross Laminated Timber: 4 Architects Who Are Already Setting the Trend

Read article
PROJECTS

01/07/2020

San Jorge School in Laja County: Improvements in Infrastructure and Quality of Education

Read article
CHOOSE WOOD

01/07/2020

Wood: The Best Resource for the Future of Sustainable Construction

Read article
CHOOSE WOOD

01/07/2020

4 Basic Tips When Building with Wood

Read article
CHOOSE WOOD

15/03/2020

Wood, paper, and cellulose: An essential industry in facing the coronavirus

The United States, Canada, Italy, Argentina, and Chile have declared this industry essential.

Read article
PROJECTS

04/09/2019

The world’s next tallest wooden building

Read Article
CHOOSE WOOD

15/05/2020

Wood stability achieved by its destabilization

Wood is a material that has been gaining many proponents in today’s world.

Read Article
CHOOSE WOOD

15/05/2020

HouseZero: Harvard’s wooden prototype for ultra efficient architecture

Energy-free heating and refrigeration, natural lighting and ventilation, energy-positive, and zero carbon emissions.

Read Article
CHOOSE WOOD

04/09/2019

Wood skyscrapers: taking the forest to the city

The construction of tall buildings from wood is probably as old as humanity. 1,400 years ago, the Japanese built multi-storey pagodas that are still standing today, defying weather conditions and earthquakes.

Read Article
PROJECTS

04/09/2019

The world’s second tallest wooden building

Until February of this year, the tallest wooden building in the world was the Brocks Commons Tallwood House, a student dormitory at the University of British Columbia designed by Acton Ostry Architects.

Read Article
PROJECTS

04/09/2019

Office building

This entirely wooden building in Bergen, southwestern Norway can house up to 62 apartments. The Treet, as this residential tower is called, is nearly 53 meters high and has 14 floors. Until 2015 it was the tallest wooden building in the world.

Read Article
CHOOSE WOOD

04/09/2019

The barriers

Despite of all the advantages, the use of wood to construct tall buildings faces challenges. One challenge is the need to win the minds of people: no one should find it amazing that 30 story buildings can be made of wood.

Read Article
CHOOSE WOOD

04/09/2019

The benefits of
timber constructions.

Read Article
PROJECTS

04/09/2019

The new world’s tallest
wooden building

Read Article
CHOOSE WOOD

04/09/2019

The case of wood

Construction of buildings can be greener and wood offers a set of advantages and benefits that were ignored for years.

Read Article
CHOOSE WOOD

04/09/2019

The future is urban

Climate change and population growth are intimately related.

Read Article
PROJECTS

04/09/2019

The world's oldest
wooden building

The Buddhist temple Horyu-ji, in Japan, is composed of several buildings. Its five-story wood-and-stucco pagoda, originally built in 607, stands out as the oldest wooden construction in the world: it is more than 1,400 years old.

Read Article
PROJECTS

New CMPC building

The building was conceived as an icon of sustainable architecture and engineering, a hallmark of responsible, environmentally friendly silviculture.

Read Article